Health Technology Assessment

in national and cross-border healthcare in Europe 


Day 1: 8 December 2011, Thursday

Chairman: François Meyer, Director, Advisor to the President of International Affairs, French National Authority for Health (HAS)


12.00 - Start of the registration

12.00 - 13.45 - Welcome coffee and refreshments


14.00 - 14.05 - Welcome by Wojciech Matusewicz, President of the Agency for Health Technology Assessment in Poland (AHTAPol)


14.05 - 14.10 - Chairman's opening remarks


14.10 - 14.20 - Introduction by the European Commission by John Dalli, European Commissioner for Health and Consumer Protection

14.20 - 14.35 - Introduction from the Health Ministries of Poland, The Netherlands and Denmark:

Adam Fronczak, Undersecretary of State, Ministry of Health, Poland
Hugo Hurts, Director General of Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices, Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sports, The Netherlands
Niels Würgler Hansen, Head of Division for Hospital Policy, Ministry of Health, Denmark

14.35 - 15.00 - Results of EUnetHTA Joint Action 1 by Finn Børlum Kristensen, Chair of the Executive Committee of European network for Health Technology Assessment (EUnetHTA)

15.00 - 15.15 - Question and Answers moderated by François Meyer


15.15 - 15.35 - EUnetHTA Joint Action 2 and the EUnetHTA long term strategy by Julia Chamova, EUnetHTA Secretariat (presented by Finn Børlum Kristensen)


15.35 - 15:50 - HTA capacity building and facilitation of national strategies for HTA sustainability as a part of the long term strategy by Krzysztof Orłowski, Agency for Health Technology Assessment in Poland (AHTAPol)

15.50 - 16.15 - Discussion moderated by François Meyer

16.15 - 16.45 - Coffee Break


16.45 - 17:25 - Vision on HTA now and in the future – by representatives from industry, patients, payers, health care providers. 


Andrea Rappagliosi, Belgium (Industry)

Anders Olauson, Sweden (Patients)

Irina Odnoletkova, Belgium (Payers)

Pascal Garel, France (Healthcare Providers)


17.25 - 17.55 - Roundtable on future in international HTA collaboration with representatives from stakeholders and participants from EUnetHTA moderated by Rubin Minhas, Clinical Director, BMJ Evidence Centre, BMJ Group, London.

Participants from EUnetHTA:
Carole Longson, NICE, United Kingdom
Alric Rüther, IQWIG, Germany
Raf Mertens, KCE, Belgium
Juozas Galdikas, VASPVT, Lithuania

17.55 - 18.00 - Concluding remarks by François Meyer

18.00 - End of scientific programme day 1.


20.00-22.00 - Gala dinner at Gdańsk Shipyard



Day 2: 9 December 2011, Friday

Chairman: Lloyd Sansom, Senior Advisor at Department of Health and Ageing, Australia

09.00 - 09.10
- Chairman's opening remarks


09.10 - 09.40 - Relative effectiveness assessment (REA) of pharmaceuticals, first results by Wim Goettsch, Health Care Insurance Board (CVZ), The Netherlands.

09.40 - 10.00 - The role and development of European guidelines for REA of pharmaceuticals by Mira Pavlovic, French National Authority for Health (HAS).

10.00 - 10.15 - Questions and Answers moderated by Lloyd Sansom

10.15 - 10.45 - Coffee Break 


10.45 - 11.00 - The view of the European Commission on the results of the EUnetHTA JA1 so far the and role of cross-border (rapid) assessments in the future by Andrzej Ryś, European Commission.


11.00 - 11.50 - Possible role of European collaborative assessments in national reimbursement processes - representatives from the Heatlh ministries of European member states:


Niels Würgler Hansen, Ministry of the Interior and Health, Denmark

Hugo Hurts, Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sports, The Netherlands

Anneli Törrönen, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, Finland
Jakub Adamski, Ministry of Health, Poland
Marcella Marletta, Ministry of Health, Italy


11.50 - 12.30 - Roundtable on how to proceed with European collaborative assessments with  representatives from national Health Ministries and Andrzej Ryś, European Commission - moderated by Karen Facey, Member of the Scottish Health Technologies Group, United Kingdom

12.30 12:45 - Concluding remarks by Finn Børlum Kristensen and Lloyd Sansom


12.45 - End of the program


13.00 - Lunch